Are sense organs part of the peripheral nervous system?

What organs are in the peripheral nervous system?

The peripheral nervous system refers to parts of the nervous system outside the brain and spinal cord. It includes the cranial nerves, spinal nerves and their roots and branches, peripheral nerves, and neuromuscular junctions.

What are the 3 parts of the peripheral nervous system?

The PNS. The PNS comprises cranial nerves 3–12, the spinal roots, sensory and autonomic ganglia, and the somatic nerves.

What would happen if the peripheral nervous system is damaged?

Peripheral neuropathy, a result of damage to the nerves located outside of the brain and spinal cord (peripheral nerves), often causes weakness, numbness and pain, usually in the hands and feet. It can also affect other areas and body functions including digestion, urination and circulation.

Where is the peripheral nervous system located?

Peripheral nerves reside outside your brain and spinal cord. They relay information between your brain and the rest of your body. The peripheral nervous system is divided into two main parts: Autonomic nervous system (ANS): Controls involuntary bodily functions and regulates glands.

What does the peripheral nervous system do examples?

It is necessary for all voluntary action, balance, and maintenance of posture. The peripheral nervous system also controls the release of secretions from most exocrine glands. The PNS innervates the muscles surrounding sense organs, so it is involved in chewing, swallowing, biting and speaking.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do we identify human behavior?

What are two parts of the peripheral nervous system?

The peripheral nervous system is further subdivided into the somatic nervous system and the autonomic nervous system.

Is the sciatic nerve part of the peripheral nervous system?

The longest human nerve is the sciatic nerve. It runs from the spinal cord in the lower back down the left leg all the way to the toes of the left foot. Like the nervous system as a whole, the peripheral nervous system also has two divisions: the sensory division and the motor division.