What are the characteristics of the central nervous system?

What are the 3 functions of the central nervous system?

The CNS is comprised of the brain, cerebellum and spinal cord. Remaining neurons, and associated cells, distributed throughout the body form the PNS. The nervous system has three broad functions: sensory input, information processing, and motor output.

What are the four characteristics of the nervous system?

Terms in this set (36)

  • Nervous System. The body’s electrochemical communication circuitry.
  • Characteristics of the Nervous system. Complexity, Integration, Adaptability, Electrochemical Transmission.
  • Complexity. …
  • Integration. …
  • Adaptability. …
  • Electrochemical Transmission. …
  • Plasticity. …
  • Afferent Nerves/ Sensory nerves.

What is one main function of the central nervous system?

The central nervous system (CNS) functions as the processing center for the nervous system. It receives information from and sends information to the peripheral nervous system. The brain processes and interprets sensory information sent from the spinal cord.

What is nervous system and its function?

The nervous system helps all the parts of the body to communicate with each other. It also reacts to changes both outside and inside the body. The nervous system uses both electrical and chemical means to send and receive messages.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Why is it important to understand risk behaviors?

What part of the nervous system calms the body?

The sympathetic nervous system doesn’t destress the body once the tree is felled or the danger has passed. Another component of the autonomic nervous system, the parasympathetic nervous system, works to calm the body down, according to the Clinical Anatomy of the Cranial Nerves, published in 2014 by Academic Press.

What is the structure and function of the central nervous system?

The central nervous system CNS is responsible for integrating sensory information and responding accordingly. It consists of two main components: The spinal cord serves as a conduit for signals between the brain and the rest of the body. It also controls simple musculoskeletal reflexes without input from the brain.

What are the 7 main parts of the central nervous system?

The central nervous system (defined as the brain and spinal cord) is usually considered to have seven basic parts: the spinal cord, the medulla, the pons, the cerebellum, the midbrain, the diencephalon, and the cerebral hemispheres (Figure 1.10; see also Figure 1.8).

What is an example of the central nervous system?

The central nervous system consists of the brain, the brainstem, and the spinal cord. The peripheral nervous system includes the cranial nerves, the spinal nerves, the sympathetic nervous system, and the parasympathetic nervous system. … The spinal cord is continuous with the brain and lies caudally to it.

What are the 6 parts of the nervous system?

Nervous System Anatomy

  • Nervous Tissue. The majority of the nervous system is tissue made up of two classes of cells: neurons and neuroglia. …
  • Brain. …
  • Spinal Cord. …
  • Nerves. …
  • Meninges. …
  • Cerebrospinal Fluid. …
  • Sense Organs. …
  • Functions of the Nervous System.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: How can cognitive perception be improved?

What is the most important part of the nervous system?

The brain and the spinal cord make up the central nervous system. The nervous system is the most complex and highly organized body system. It receives information from the sensory organs via nerves, transmits the information through the spinal cord, and processes it in the brain.

What organs are in nervous system?

The nervous system has two main parts:

  • The central nervous system is made up of the brain and spinal cord.
  • The peripheral nervous system is made up of nerves that branch off from the spinal cord and extend to all parts of the body.